The Little Blue Deli – Barry, South Wales

Barry. It doesn’t scream ‘travel destination’, I have to be honest. Not unless you’re a huge Gavin & Stacey fan, or are particularly partial to a good pub brawl. I don’t tend to venture there too much, despite it being the town in which many of my friends grew up, I went to school, and my mum works.  Barry’s bigger, more sophisticated sister, Cardiff, has always been much more my kind of place. If you want a glitzy night out on the tiles followed by a glorious Chippy Lane feast (Charlotte Church’s choice of 3am dining, I’ll have you know), it’s got to be Cardiff. If you want to spend your 23rd birthday in a sticky-floored Wetherspoons with the one friend who has nothing better to do (thanks Owen!), go to Barry. Hot4U’s chicken nuggets weren’t bad, to be fair.

Little Blue Delli

Anyway, the point of this post is to highlight an absolute gem of a place found in this very seaside town. My mum and I had popped in for a pamper session at Balance the Body on the High Street, and needed a post-massage lunch. Just across the street, low and behold, was the Little Blue Deli. Instantly, I felt that pleasantly surprised feeling, the one where in your head a little voice is going ‘Yessss! Score!’, you feel so lucky to have found just exactly what you wanted. I’m not going to lie (at the end of the day, when all’s said and done… Oh, what’s occurin’?) I also felt a tad confused. Barry doesn’t do quaint. It doesn’t do soft lighting and ambience.  Barry doesn’t do trendy, good service and affordable all at one time, does it? I thought you only ever got one out of three, two if you’re lucky.

I was wrong.

Little Blue Deli

Packed chalk board menus and tantalising cake displays made my mouth water; home made soups, wraps, paninis and baguettes, lasagne, curry, along with fresh juices and hot drinks – rumbling tummies, you are welcome. The friendly lady at the counter, with her lilting Welsh accent – the one I miss so much now I live in London – explained that the Little Blue Deli had been open since December 2012, and is going from strength to strength. ‘We even do cocktails in the evening’ she pointed out. Win. ‘Oh and there’s another branch on Thompson Street’, she added. Double win!

Little Blue Deli

Now I don’t know what they season their chips with at the Little Blue Deli, but they alone are reason enough to go. Garlicky, herby goodness. The paninis (bacon and brie, standard) were HUGE and came with such a generous salad, I was seriously stuffed. This place seems to be running a thriving business, on what is otherwise a rather recession-ravaged street.

Little Blue Deli

Barry might be a little rough around the edges, but it’s loveable. And the more places like this that pop up, the better. I’ll certainly be heading back to try out their breakfasts, and cocktails… separately, of course!

The Little Blue Deli – 3 Thompson Street and 86 High Street, Barry, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales. Check them out on Twitter!

Comments
6 Responses to “The Little Blue Deli – Barry, South Wales”
  1. Arianwen says:

    My dad used to work in the Butlin’s on Barry Island. If we ever take a family trip there I’ll remember this deli. Sounds lovely!

  2. Dan Nicholls says:

    I may check this out some time this week! cheers 🙂

    p.s: shameless self-promotion – I’ve started a new blog! muchadoaboutstuff.wordpress.com.

  3. best food in Barry by far ! coffee is out of this world, rib eye steak are fab, excellent range of tapas stunning food !!

  4. Pat Temple-Murray says:

    The Barry Arts Festival – 10 days of music, art, drama, blues club gigs, exhibitions…and lots more is just finishing today and one of our events, Philosophy with Coffee, was held in the Little Blue Deli in High Street. A great venue, good coffee and food, and a real asset to our town! Talking of eating places, there’s a great Greek/Turkish restaurant on Broad Street -Izmir – and down at the Knap there are two lovely cafes: Romilly’s and the Bridge Cafe. We’re spoilt for choice in this lovely town!

  5. Sarah says:

    Barry has a lot to offer, once you get past the stigma. Being a Cardiff girl i was a bit hesitant moving here but i wouldn’t go back to Cardiff now. I see more trouble in Cardiff on a night out than I do when i am out in Barry. Anyway I must say I have been to the Little Blue Deli since it opened its first shop in Thompson Street and now its new place in High street is a little gem. The service is amazing always a warm welcome and the food is wonderful and always nicely presented. Keep up the good work guys and maybe something this side of Penceodtre Village for your next venture would be nice 😉

  6. Marilyn says:

    Went to the little blue Dell for lunch today. I became aware for the first time that you can have a tea party for Adults or children. Going to book a Mad Hatter tea party for next weak, so looking forward to it with grandchildren. Lunch was a morrocan salad really good very filling, lovely staff.

What do you think?

