One Step Closer

I made the Top 50 applicants for STA travel’s World Traveller Internship. No big deal. I’m completely cool about it, no biggie…
WOOHOO!!
The weeks and weeks of campaigning, self-promoting and torturous dreams of winning the title of STA WTI have at least led to something; but since there still remain a couple of gruelling rounds to survive, the pressure has in fact increased massively. Now it’s all about my experience. The real nitty gritty stuff that proves I’m the one for the job. My CV is probably not going to be as dazzling as some of the other WTI wannabes, so how do I convince STA that my passion is real? Sometimes I hear myself talk about it with friends and I sound like a whiny contestant on the X Factor, sob story and all. Phrases such as “I want this so badly”, “I just know I’m meant for this job” and “It means everything to me” just sound hollow, despite the absolute truth of the words. So what the hell do I do?
 My insides feel like they’re in a constant flux. One minute my heart is in my mouth, I can barely contain the excitement that is screaming to be released – the next, it sinks to the pit of my stomach, hit by the very real possibility of failure. This process is exhausting. But every push is worth it. All I can do is be myself, and hope for the best. This opportunity is unreal – it has really encouraged me to consider what I want.
And what I want is that darn internship.
Comments
2 Responses to “One Step Closer”
  1. Ru says:

    all of what you've written is so true…i'm glad i'm not the only one who feels like this. It's now been an obsession for almost 2 months! crazy! good luck for the top 20…and you're right, we can only be ourselves.x

  2. Natalie says:

    Hey,I'm another one of the top 50 applicants, and I came across your blog randomly.I really like your video application, and good luck, hopefully see you in the next round! (eek! I'm so nervous!)x

What do you think?

